If You Love Honey: Nature’s Connections

Written by Martha Sullivan
Illustrated by Cathy Morrison


Rather than approaching one concept in isolation, this new book shows the reader how everything affects or is affected by other things and demonstrates the delicate balance of our planet. Honey is made by honey bees, who gather nectar from dandelions. Dandelions are protected by ladybugs, who also love goldenrod. Goldenrod attracts butterflies, who also love clover. Clover needs rich soil, provided in part by earthworms. Mushrooms help speed up the earthworm’s work. Mushrooms work in tandem with oak trees, whose leaves hide many creatures and whose acorns feed are planted by birds. Birds also eat berries, which are pollinated by the honey bees, bringing the story full circle.

Throughout the story, master illustrator Morrison sets the scene and shows that the items discussed in the text are even less isolated than imagined. Bears examine the honey repository. A farm and other flowers are near the dandelions. Sheep, protected by a dog, graze near the goldenrod. Rabbits much on the clover. Tree roots, baby bunnies, a lizard, and a toad appear in the rich soil. People work and play.

Second graders can learn so much about the nature in their backyards from this book. Literacy skills will be enhanced by the wonderful visuals and scientific concepts. Read aloud in a classroom, students can spot the details and discuss the connections.

Order on Amazon

  • Honey_Paperback.inddTitle: If You Love Honey: Nature’s Connections
  • Author: Martha Sullivan
  • Illustrator: Cathy Morrison
  • Published: Dawn Publications, September 2015
  • Reviewer: Sue Poduska
  • Format: Hardcover, 32 pages
  • Grade Level: K to 3
  • Genre: Nonfiction, Nature
  • ISBN: 978-1-58469-533-2
  • Extras: Sweet Connections; From Nectar to Honey; Author and Illustrator Biographies; Other Books, E-books, and Interactive Book Apps

One comment

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice and thoughtful review. I love working on Martha Sullivan’s stories. She’s great at taking a complex topic and making it fun and easily understood. I hope the kids enjoy the book as much as I enjoyed illustrating it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *